Distinguished Professor
(Formerly Child Family Professor and Past Chairman)
Fellow of the IEEE

Department of Computer Science
University of California
Davis, CA 95616, USA
Phone: +1-530-752-4826
E-mail: bmukherjee@ucdavis.edu

Google Scholar Profile»

Recent News

Distinguished Faculty

On its 50th anniversary, the College of Engineering at UC Davis honored the people who have made significant contributions to its history.

Read More »
  • July 2018: B. Mukherjee graduates PhD #75: Dr. Rafael Braz Reboucas Lourenco; Dissertation Title: “Providing Communication with Scarce Network Resources” (July 2018); Current Employer: Google. Other recent PhD graduates of Dr. Mukherjee: 74: Dr. Wei Wang (VMware China); 73: Dr. Abhishek Gupta (Amobee); 72: Dr. (Ms) Sifat Ferdousi (UC Davis postdoc); 71: Dr. (Ms) S. Sedef Savas (Big Switch); 71: Dr. (Ms) Divya Chitimalla (Akamai).
  • May 2018: Professor Biswanath Mukherjee's lab wins the 2018 Charles Kao Award for their paper “5G Fronthaul–Latency and Jitter Studies of CPRI Over Ethernet”, IEEE Journal of Optical Communications & Networking, Vol. 9, No. 2, pp. 172-182, February 2017.
  • Dec. 2017: Professor Biswanath Mukherjee's lab wins the 2018 TAOS Best Paper Award for their paper “TDM EPON Fronthaul Upstream Capacity Improvement Via Traffic Classification and Sifting”, IEEE Global Communications Conference, 2017.
  • January 3-7, 2016: At 104th Indian Science Congress, inaugurated by the Hon'ble Prime Minister of India at Tirupati, India, B. Mukherjee convened two plenary sessions - one on "Cloud Computing & Virtualization" & another on "5G & IoT" - and gave plenary talks in both along with experts from industry, academe, and government.

  • May 2016: Received UC Davis International Community Building Award.
  • December 2015: Received IEEE Communications Society's inaugural Outstanding Technical Achievement Award "for pioneering work on shaping the optical networking area".
  • March 2011: Served as General Co-Chair of OFC/NFOEC 2011.
  • December 2010: Served as Steering Committee Chair of IEEE ANTS 2010, held in Mumbai, India.
  • November 2009: Received Outstanding Senior Faculty Award from UC Davis College of Engineering.

Major Contributions

  • First proposal/prototype for a network intrusion detection system (1990); today a $10B/yr industry. L. Todd Heberlein, B. Mukherjee, et al., “A Network Security Monitor (NSM),” Proc., 1990 IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy, pp. 296-304, Oakland, CA, May 1990.
  • First proposal/prototype for a filtering firewall (1990); today a $8B/yr industry. C. Kwok and B. Mukherjee, “Cut-through bridging for CSMA/CD Local Area Networks,” IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. 38, pp. 938-942, July 1990.
  • Many contributions and books on Optical backbone network design, IP over optical, virtualization, etc. (1991 onwards).
  • First proposal/prototype for dynamic bandwidth allocation in Ethernet optical access networks (2002); over 100 million units deployed worldwide. G. Kramer, B. Mukherjee, and G. Pesavento, “IPACT: A dynamic protocol for an Ethernet PON,” IEEE Communications Magazine, vol. 40, no. 2, pp. 74-80, Feb. 2002.
  • First proposal to integrate optical and wireless networks (2007); basis for the upcoming multibillion-dollar 5G industry. Suman Sarkar, Sudhir Dixit, and Biswanath Mukherjee, “Hybrid Wireless-Optical BroadbandAccess Network (WOBAN): A Review of Relevant Challenges,” IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology, vol. 25, no. 11, Nov. 2007.

  • Keynote/Plenary Talks

    • July 19, 2018: "Rising Power of the Network User," DOE Mini-Symposium on Data over Distance: Convergence of Networking, Storage, Transport, and Software, Hanover, MD, USA.
    • June 20, 2018: "Rising Power of the Network User," EuCNC 2018, Ljubljana, Slovenia.
    • January 5, 2017: "Cloud Computing and Virtualization," Indian Science Congress, Tirupati, India.
    • January 5, 2017: "5G and IoT," Indian Science Congress, Tirupati, India.
    • September 24, 2016: "Disaster Resilience of Telecom Infrastructure," Chinacom, Chongqing, China.
    • September 13, 2016: "Disaster Resilience of Telecom Infrastructure," Reliable Networks Design and Modeling (RNDM) Conference, Halmstad, Sweden.
    • September 12, 2016: "Network Resilience for Massive Failures and Attacks," COST/RECODIS, Halmstad, Sweden.
    • March 4, 2016: "Network Adaptability to Combat Disaster Disruptions and Cascading Failures," National Communications Conference (NCC), IIT Gauhati, India.
    • February 29, 2016: Guest of Honor Lecture, Research Day, SRM University, Chennai, India.
    • March 25, 2015: "Network Adaptability from Disaster Disruption and Cascading Failures," Design of Reliable Computer Networks (DRCN) Conference, Kansas City, USA.
    • October 28, 2013: "Software-Defined Optical Networks (SDONs)," ETRI Annual Conference, Jeju, Korea.
    • April 18, 2013: "Panorama of Optical Network Survivability," Optical Network Design and Modeling (ONDM) Conference, Brest, France.
    • September 3, 2012: "Emerging Technology/Research Trends in Next Generation Optical Networks," Chief Guest and Inauguration Address, Faculty Development Program, SRM University, Chennai, India.
    • July 4, 2011: "Network Convergence in the Future Internet", at 12th International Conference on High Performance Switching and Routing (HPSR), Cartagena, Spain.
    • June 27, 2011: "Some “Opaque” Problems in Transparent Optical Networks", at International Conference on Transparent Optical Networks (ICTON), Stockholm, Sweden.
    • May 31, 2011: Brazilian Symposium on Networks and Distributed System (SBRC), Campo Grande, Brazil.
    • November 9, 2010: Guest Professorship Lecture: "Network Convergence in the Future Internet", at Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications (BUPT), China.
    • July 12, 2010: "Convergence in the Optical Internet (COIN)", at 9th Convergence in the Optical Internet (COIN), Jeju, Korea.

Awards and Honors

  • May 2018: Co-winner, Charles Kao Award.
  • Dec. 2017: Co-winner, TAOS Best Paper Award.
  • May 2016: Winner, UC Davis International Community Building Award.
  • December 2015: Winner, IEEE Communications Society's inaugural (2015) Outstanding Technical Achievement Award "for pioneering work on shaping the optical networking area".
  • 2009: Winner, Outstanding Senior Faculty Award, College of Engineering, UC Davis.
  • November 2007: Co-winner, IEEE Globecom 2007 Optical Networking Symposium Best Paper Award.
  • December 2006: B. Mukherjee elevated to IEEE Fellow.

How to be a good graduate student

The slides can be downloaded from here.

A Sampling of Significant Research Papers

(Not updated since 2017. Visit Google Scholar Profile)

Recent Tutorial Papers